Search Committee


Bishop Search Committee

According to our Canons, the Search Committee shall consist of two (2) clergy and two (2) lay persons from each of the deaneries. Not more than one (1) lay member may come from the same parish or mission. Not more than one (1) member of the clergy may come from the same parish or mission. The President of the Standing Committee or another member thereof designated by the Standing Committee shall serve ex-officio as a member. The Chancellor of the diocese, or an assistant Chancellor designated by the Chancellor, shall serve ex-officio as a member. The committee shall determine its officers and leadership. 

Search Committee Members

Pee Dee-Waccamaw Deanery
The Rev. Ryan Currie, Holy Cross Faith Memorial, Pawleys Island
The Rev. Rob Donehue, St. Anne’s, Conway
Doug Billings, Holy Cross Faith Memorial, Pawleys Island
Frances Elmore, St. Catherine’s, Florence

Peninsula Deanery
The Rev. Dr. Philip Linder, St. Mark’s, Charleston (chair)
The Rev. Jeff Richardson, Holy Communion, Charleston
Elsa McDowell, Grace Church Cathedral, Charleston
Pat Patrick, St. Stephen’s, Charleston

Southern Deanery
The Very Rev. Mark Brinkmann, All Saints, Hilton Head Island
The Rev. Roy Tripp, St. Mark’s, Port Royal
Jane Forsythe, St. Mark’s, Port Royal
Lesley Gilbert, All Saints, Hilton Head Island

West Charleston Deanery
The Rev. Dow Sanderson, Good Shepherd, Summerville
The Rev. Fred Thompson, The Episcopal Church on Edisto, Edisto Island
Thad Daise, The Episcopal Church on Edisto, Edisto Island
George Tupper, Good Shepherd, Summerville 

The Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina Diocesan Seal

Tasks of the Search Committee

According to the Canons of the Diocese of South Carolina, the Search Committee shall have the following tasks: 

  • (a) Develop and oversee a process for creating a Diocesan profile. 

  • (b) Publish the address and other appropriate contact information for the Search Committee. 

  • (c) Receive nominations. 

  • (d) Review the qualifications of those being considered. 

  • (e) Publish to the delegates in writing the names of those persons being recommended to the Standing Committee not less than ninety (90) days before the first day of the convention. 

  • (f) Receive all petitions to nominate a person for the office of bishop, which must be submitted to the Search Committee no later than forty-five (45) days before the date set for the convening of the convention called to elect a bishop. No petitions shall be received after that date and no other nominations shall be brought before the convention after that date. 

  • (g) After consultation with the Standing Committee, determine the number of nominees to be considered by the convention. However, at least three (3) qualified nominees, who have consented to stand for election and whose background check has been approved, shall be presented.